College Trip #13: I can’t get no satisfaction…

Or worthwhile vegan food for that matter! Before I get too far into the topic I just want to apologize for not posting about the tail end of my trip. Between family and fuel issues I just didn’t have enough time… Perhaps I’ll write about that stuff later. Anyway, the vegan food scene in Bar Harbor is odd; there are plenty of nice resources like A & B Naturals, the local natural food store, and plenty of tasty, local, and inherently vegan products but when it comes to getting a good restaurant meal I have had a frustrating time.

My first attempt was at an establishment called ‘Lompoc’. What I got ended up as some unbreaded fried tofu with a grainy nut-sweet pepper paste on top; below a small amount of roasted/fried potatoes and warmed dill pickles to hide the greasy vinegar pool gathering from the combined runoff of the food above. I liked the fried tofu but the rest I could have lived without. My second attempt was at ‘Tamarind’, a deli of sorts. I didn’t even get the ‘vegan’ food here ’cause the cheese on the sandwiches and pizza isn’t even vegan. When I asked the woman behind the counter about the brand they used, she pointed to a block of ‘Soy-Kass’ in the cooler. The stuff is basically as close as you can get to real cheese while still calling it ‘soy cheese’. Not vegan what-so-ever. When I told her that it isn’t vegan she feebly replied “I know, the owner won’t change it”. Wow, way to deceive people! The next eatery I attended is called ‘Maggie’s’. The soup, a tomato gazpacho, was amazing. The sweet and acid balanced really well and the textures were well matched. The main dish of stuffed squash fell short though. The sauce it was sitting in was this curry-coconut blend with corn kernels in it; it wasn’t bad at all. I would have actually liked more of it; it could have livened up the dish. The center piece was a bland, steamed zucchini-esque squash filled with unseasoned (salt and pepper anyone?) quinoa and I think chunks of vegan boca patties. It was like eating a pile-roast of below-average steamed veggies, no, wait, that’s what it was. It was ok, but for the price ($19) I wouldn’t eat it again. I can’t even find a nice salad… To sum up the vegan restaurnt experience so far: meh.

This entry was posted in College Trip, Vegan Food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to College Trip #13: I can’t get no satisfaction…

  1. Amber P. says:

    Sorry to hear about the lack of vegan food in Bar Harbor. You should really work for the Phantom Gourmet…

Leave a Reply

